Weekly Reading Roundup – 08/11/17

Amazing images of San Francisco before it was a city – Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/amazing-images-san-francisco-history-2017-8

Does Basic Income Solve Anything? Grasp the Arguments for and Against – Futureism: https://futurism.com/does-basic-income-solve-anything-grasp-the-arguments-for-and-against/

The best parts of the internet are terrible at making money – Mashable: http://mashable.com/2017/07/29/the-best-things-on-the-internet-suck-at-making-money/

Is Amazon getting too big? – The Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/business/is-amazon-getting-too-big/2017/07/28/ff38b9ca-722e-11e7-9eac-d56bd5568db8_story.html

THE 3 STAGES OF DATA SCIENCE – Data Science 101: http://101.datascience.community/2017/08/09/the-3-stages-of-data-science

What’s New In Our 2017-18 Club Soccer Predictions – FiveThirtyEight: https://fivethirtyeight.com/features/whats-new-in-our-2017-18-club-soccer-predictions/

HOW TO KILL A DINOSAUR IN 10 MINUTES – 3 Quarks Daily: http://www.3quarksdaily.com/3quarksdaily/2017/08/ten-minutes-difference-that-doomed-the-dinosaurs.html

How Air Conditioning Conquered America (Even the Pacific Northwest) – NY Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/08/04/upshot/the-all-conquering-air-conditioner.html

12 Shocking THings I learned by Working as a Butler at the Plaza Hotel – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-08-08/12-shocking-things-i-learned-by-working-as-a-butler-at-the-plaza-hotel

BuzzFeed News Trained A Computer To Search For Hidden Spy Planes. This Is What We Found. – BuzzFeed: https://www.buzzfeed.com/peteraldhous/hidden-spy-planes

A perfectly-timed photo of the space station and the moon puts human achievements in perspective – Quartz: https://qz.com/1041126/the-iss-and-the-moon-a-perfectly-timed-photo-of-the-moon-puts-humanitys-achievements-in-perspective/

Weekly Reading Roundup – 08/04/17

Why the Germans Blew It at Dunkirk – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles/2017-07-24/why-the-germans-blew-it-at-dunkirk

Apple and the Oak Tree – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/apple-and-the-oak-tree/

Americans Keep Crushing it With Their 401K’s – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-08-03/americans-keep-crushing-it-with-their-401-k-s

The Rise of the Tech Model May Soon Make You Obsolete – Institutional Investor: http://www.institutionalinvestor.com/article/3439375/banking-and-capital-markets-trading-and-technology/the-rise-of-the-tech-model-may-soon-make-you-obsolete.html

The 4 Keys to Learning Anything – Zen Habits: https://zenhabits.net/larning/

Winners of the 2017 National Geographic Travel Photographer of the Year Contest – The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/photo/2017/08/winners-of-the-2017-national-geographic-travel-photographer-of-the-year-contest/535572/

OUR MINDS HAVE BEEN HIJACKED BY OUR PHONES. TRISTAN HARRIS WANTS TO RESCUE THEM – Wired: https://www.wired.com/story/our-minds-have-been-hijacked-by-our-phones-tristan-harris-wants-to-rescue-them/

Have Smartphones Destroyed a Generation? – The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2017/09/has-the-smartphone-destroyed-a-generation/534198/

Student’s simple washing machine idea could save thousands of tonnes in carbon emissions – Telegraph: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/2017/08/04/students-simple-washing-machine-idea-could-save-thousands-tonnes/

Weekly Reading Roundup – 07/21/17

This is a weekly reading to celebrate! As a gift to myself on my birthday, here’s some readings just like usual!

Snapchat Spectacles for Sale on Amazon – Mashable: http://mashable.com/2017/07/18/snapchat-spectacles-for-sale-on-amazon/

Stop what you’re doing, there’s a video of a dog riding a horse like a boss – IB Times: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/stop-what-youre-doing-theres-video-dog-riding-horse-like-boss-1630862

The Economics of Subsidizing Sports Stadiums – Ritholz: http://ritholtz.com/2017/07/economics-subsidizing-sports-stadiums/

How Tottenham Hotspur is Building the Intelligent Stadium of the Future – ZDNet: http://www.zdnet.com/article/how-tottenham-hotspur-is-building-the-intelligent-stadium-of-the-future/

How Working at an Olive Garden Can Make You a Great Chef One Day – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-07-17/worst-summer-job-stories-from-top-chefs-around-america

Student Debt Is a Major Reason Millennials Aren’t Buying Homes – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-07-17/student-debt-is-hurting-millennial-homeownership

Weekly Reading Roundup – 07/14/17

Most Popular Words Used in Conjunction with Football Teams – BootifulGame: https://twitter.com/bootifulgame/status/884315139700404224

Capitalism the Apple Way vs Capitalism the Google Way – the Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2017/07/apple-google-capitalism/532995/

Wanna Get Rich? Think Fractally – Of Dollars and Data: https://ofdollarsanddata.com/wanna-get-rich-think-fractally-707be74f1439

Chiropractors are Bullshit – the Outline: https://theoutline.com/post/1617/chiropractors-are-bullshit

When America was the Most Innovative and Why – Harvard Business Review: https://hbr.org/2017/03/when-america-was-most-innovative-and-why

Publishers and the Pursuit of the Past – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/publishers-seek-antitrust-exemption-news-versus-advertising-a-better-solution-for-publishers/

KFC is now selling clothes and jewellery – and they’re weirdly cool – Digital Spy: http://www.digitalspy.com/tech/news/a833016/kfc-sells-clothes-jewellery/

22,000 people accidentally signed up to clean toilets because people don’t read Wi-Fi terms – Mashable: http://mashable.com/2017/07/13/wifi-terms-conditions-toilets/

Money, Blockchains, and Social Scalability – Unenumerated: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2017/02/money-blockchains-and-social-scalability.html

Why Can’t Americans Get a Raise? – Slate: http://www.slate.com/articles/business/moneybox/2017/07/why_can_t_americans_get_a_raise.html

Weekly Reading Roundup – 07/05/17

I know, I know. You’ve been waiting for some reading but haven’t seen the updates. Well, they’re back! Took two weeks off due to an adventure to Iceland (posts coming soon!) and the other two weeks were due to Internet Explorer being a totally inferior product to dog shit. I’ve since switched to Chrome and will bring you the best every week, just like you remember! Perhaps even better, too.

Empty Bladder vs Full Bladder – Flowing Data: http://flowingdata.com/2017/06/30/empty-bladder-full-bladder/

How HBO’s Silicon Valley built “Not Hotdog” with mobile TensorFlow, Keras & React Native – HackerNoon: https://hackernoon.com/how-hbos-silicon-valley-built-not-hotdog-with-mobile-tensorflow-keras-react-native-ef03260747f3

Photographer Breaks 43 Of The Most Ridiculous Laws In America, And It’s Hilarious – Bored Panda: http://www.boredpanda.com/i-fought-the-law-olivia-locher-usa/

Why Tesla is Worth More than GM – Technology Review: https://www.technologyreview.com/s/607954/why-tesla-is-worth-more-than-gm/

NASA Denies that It’s Running a Child Slave Colony on Mars – The Daily Beast: http://www.thedailybeast.com/nasa-denies-that-its-running-a-child-slave-colony-on-mars

Rigged: Forced Into Debt. Worked past exhaustion. Left with nothing. – USA Today: https://www.usatoday.com/pages/interactives/news/rigged-forced-into-debt-worked-past-exhaustion-left-with-nothing/

Amazon’s New Customer – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/amazons-new-customer/

Ends, Means, and Anit-Trust – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/ends-means-and-antitrust/

The Streaming Problem: How Spammers, Superstars, and Tech Giants Gamed the Music Industry – Vulture: http://www.vulture.com/2017/07/streaming-music-cheat-codes.html

Living the High Life: Too many modern flats are samey and soulless. A new book celebrates the architects coming up with creative solutions for our overcrowded cities
– 1843 Magazine: https://www.1843magazine.com/design/the-daily/living-the-high-life

Weekly Reading Roundup – 06/09/17

The Riddle of the Wall Street Brain Drain – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles/2016-08-17/the-riddle-of-the-wall-street-brain-drain

Apple’s Strengths and Weaknesses – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/apples-strengths-and-weaknesses/

Reality Check: Companies Need to Invest in Wages and Training – Strategy Business: https://www.strategy-business.com/blog/Reality-Check-Companies-Need-to-Invest-in-Wages-and-Training

A Peek Under Bitcoin’s Hood – Sam Lewis: http://www.samlewis.me/2017/06/a-peek-under-bitcoins-hood/

How to Call B.S. On Big Data, A Practical Guide – The New Yorker: http://www.newyorker.com/tech/elements/how-to-call-bullshit-on-big-data-a-practical-guide

Is American Work at Odds With New Realities of American Life? – USA Today: https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/2017/06/04/life-american-worker-hard-ever-get-bette/345685001/

If Your Company Isn’t Good At Analytics, It’s Not Ready for AI – Harvard Business Review: https://hbr.org/2017/06/if-your-company-isnt-good-at-analytics-its-not-ready-for-ai

The Unintended Consequences of Machine Learning – KDNuggets: http://www.kdnuggets.com/2017/06/unintended-consequences-machine-learning.html

Weekly Reading Roundup – 06/02/17

What Get Stolen From Restaurants? Everything – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-05-31/what-gets-stolen-from-restaurants-everything

IKEA launches $86,500 flat-pack home — but don’t worry, they’ll build it for you – Digital Trends: https://www.digitaltrends.com/home/ikea-launches-86500-flat-pack-home-but-dont-worry-theyll-build-it-for-you/

The 15 Richest Billionaire Football Club Owners in England, and How They Made Their Money – Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/the-15-richest-billionaire-football-club-owners-in-england-2017-5

Aerospace Executive ‘Absolutely Convinced’ There Are Aliens On Earth – Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/robert-bigelow-ufos-aliens-on-earth_us_592ca03ce4b0065b20b7bfb7

Laptops in 2017, Which GPU is Right For You? – Laptop Mag: https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/gpu-comparison

Giving Up Time as a Parent – Flowing Data: http://flowingdata.com/2017/05/31/giving-up-days-as-a-parent/

Basic Income: The Potential For Crytocurrency – Continuations: http://continuations.com/post/161240433890/basic-income-the-potential-of-cryptocurrency

How Data Science Helps Power Worldwide Delivery of Netflix Content – Medium: https://medium.com/netflix-techblog/how-data-science-helps-power-worldwide-delivery-of-netflix-content-bac55800f9a7

How Siemens Is Using Big Data And IoT To Build The Internet Of Trains – Forbes: https://www.forbes.com/sites/bernardmarr/2017/05/30/how-siemens-is-using-big-data-and-iot-to-build-the-internet-of-trains/#6af5452572b8

Faceless Publishers – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/the-faceless-publisher/

The Coca-Cola Company Commercialization Program Welcomes New Corporate Partners and Doubles the Number of Participating Startups – PR Web: http://www.prweb.com/releases/2017/05/prweb14318458.htm

How Your Data is Stored, or, The Laws of the Imaginary Greeks – Hackernoon: https://hackernoon.com/how-your-data-is-stored-or-the-laws-of-the-imaginary-greeks-54c569c17a49

8 Ways Machine Learning Is Improving Companies’ Work Processes – Harvard Business Review: https://hbr.org/2017/05/8-ways-machine-learning-is-improving-companies-work-processes

How A Data Scientist Can Improve His Productivity – Data Version Control: https://blog.dataversioncontrol.com/how-a-data-scientist-can-improve-his-productivity-730425ba4aa0

Weekly Reading Roundup – 05/26/17

(Amazing Graphics) Miles of Ice Collapsing Into the Sea – NY TImes: https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2017/05/18/climate/antarctica-ice-melt-climate-change.html

More is More; Empire of Things: How We Became a World of Consumers, from the Fifteenth Century to the Twenty-First – NY Books: http://www.nybooks.com/articles/2017/05/25/consumer-society-more-is-more/

How Mountain Biking is Saving Small Town USA – Outside Online: https://www.outsideonline.com/2184491/how-mountain-biking-saving-small-town-usa

Tulips, Myths, and Cryptocurrencies – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/tulips-myths-and-cryptocurrencies/

Stanford Neuroscientist Reveals Something ‘Puzzling’ in People Who Are Extremely Successful – Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/stanford-neuroscientist-extremely-successful-high-stress-levels-2017-5

Giant Octopus Suffocates Foolhearty Dolphin Who Tried to Eat It – New Scientist: https://www.newscientist.com/article/2132626-giant-octopus-suffocates-foolhardy-dolphin-that-tried-to-eat-it/

World Cup 2018: FIFA Admits Works Have Suffered Human Rights Abuse – The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/football/2017/may/25/fifa-world-cup-2018-workers-human-rights-abuses

A Day in the Life of Americans – Flowing Data: https://flowingdata.com/2015/12/15/a-day-in-the-life-of-americans/

The World is Running Out of Sand – The New Yorker: http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2017/05/29/the-world-is-running-out-of-sand

(VIDEO) Mark Zuckerberg Wants to Experiment with Universal Basic Income – USA Today: https://www.usatoday.com/videos/money/2017/05/26/mark-zuckerberg-wants-experiment-universal-basic-income/102189642/

How This Couple Paid Off $200,000 of Debt in Just Two Years – CNN Money: http://money.cnn.com/2017/05/26/pf/paying-off-debt/ –Personal note, I usually ignore these types of articles because they’re stupid like these people budgeted and didn’t spend much. But this actually got me to think about living situations. So good job!

Just a Few Self-Driving Cars Could Fix Phantom Traffic Jams – Smithsonian Magazine: http://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/few-self-driving-cars-could-fix-phantom-traffic-jams-180963472/

New Seafloor Map Reveals How Strange the Gulf of Mexico Is – National Geographic: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2017/05/new-seafloor-map-gulf-of-mexico/

Why You Should Never Squish a House Centipede, Even if They Do Freak You Out – Organic Life: https://www.rodalesorganiclife.com/home/why-you-should-never-squish-a-house-centipede-even-if-they-do-freak-you-out

Best Big Data Companies and CEOs To Work For According to Glassdoor – Forbes: https://www.forbes.com/sites/louiscolumbus/2017/05/20/the-best-big-data-companies-and-ceos-to-work-for-in-2017-based-on-glassdoor/#53b77fda326e

Weekly Reading Roundup – 05/19/17

Pitchfork Grows Up – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2017-05-03/pitchfork-grows-up

Sky’s Not Falling in San Francisco, Either – Ritholtz: http://ritholtz.com/2017/05/sky-not-falling-san-fran/

To Age Better, Eat Better – Harvard News: http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2017/05/much-of-life-is-beyond-our-control-but-dining-smartly-can-help-us-live-healthier-longer/

A List of Artificial Intelligence Tools You Can Use Today For Personal Use – Hacker Noon: https://hackernoon.com/a-list-of-artificial-intelligence-tools-you-can-use-today-for-personal-use-1-3-7f1b60b6c94f

(VIDEO) What Is Gluten Sensitivity? – Live Science: http://www.livescience.com/59126-what-is-gluten-sensitivity-video.html

Silicon Valley, A Reality Check – Slate Star Codex: http://slatestarcodex.com/2017/05/11/silicon-valley-a-reality-check/

Old Tweets About Classified Info From GOP and Trump Resurface – NY Daily News: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/old-tweets-classified-info-gop-trump-resurfaces-article-1.3168586

VC101 How VCs Operate, and What You Should Know as a Founder – AWS Startup Blogs: https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/startups/vc-101-how-vcs-operate-and-what-you-should-know-as-a-founder/

An EPIC Trading Tale From Norway – The Macro Tourist: http://themacrotourist.com/macro/an-epic-trading-tale-from-Norway

How One Little Cable Company Exposed Telecom’s Achilles Heel – Back Channel: https://backchannel.com/how-one-little-cable-company-exposed-telecoms-achilles-heel-480e49b648bf

Household Debt Makes a Comeback in the US – NY Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/05/17/business/dealbook/household-debt-united-states.html

WannaCry and the Power of Business Models – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/wannacry-and-the-power-of-business-models/

Boring Google – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/boring-google/

Weekly Reading Roundup – 05/12/17

The Long, Hard, Unprecedented Fall of Sears – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-05-08/the-long-hard-unprecedented-fall-of-sears

Rare Supernova Discover Ushers In New Era of Cosmology – Phys Org: https://phys.org/news/2017-04-rare-supernova-discovery-ushers-era.html

Don’t Let Facebook Make You Miserable – NYTimes: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/05/06/opinion/sunday/dont-let-facebook-make-you-miserable.html

Colliding Clusters of Galaxies Make Waves… Gorgeous, Gorgeous Waves – Bad Astronomy: http://www.blastr.com/2017-5-8/colliding-clusters-galaxies-make-wavesgorgeous-gorgeous-waves

Local News Business Model – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/the-local-news-business-model/

(IMAGE) Top Data Science Skills by Job – Business Broadway: https://4.bp.blogspot.com/-D6ezTNiG014/WROPM3i9v2I/AAAAAAAAC-Y/lcF3pYBoiLQvYvjo8yiX5L7yzC8MUC6AACEw/s1600/datascienceblogtopdatascienceskills.png

Neural Network Generated Illustrations – Google Research Blog: https://research.googleblog.com/2017/05/neural-network-generated-illustrations.html