Monthly Archives: November 2016

Weekly Reading Roundup – 11/23/16

Short week for the long Thanksgiving weekend, but long list! Enjoy! (sorry for the duplicates from prior weeks)

How a Researcher Used her Computational Know How to Beat Her Ovarian Cancer – Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/to-your-health/wp/2016/11/11/how-a-researcher-used-her-computational-know-how-to-beat-her-own-ovarian-cancer/

Media in the Age of Algorithms – Medium: https://medium.com/the-wtf-economy/media-in-the-age-of-algorithms-63e80b9b0a73

What so Many People Don’t Get About the Working Class – HBR: https://hbr.org/2016/11/what-so-many-people-dont-get-about-the-u-s-working-class

Designing with Machine Learning – WeWork Blog: https://www.wework.com/blog/posts/designing-with-machine-learning

Frozen Accidents: Why the Future is so Unpredictable – Farnam Street Blog: https://www.farnamstreetblog.com/2016/11/frozen-accidents/

Cameras, ecommerce, and Machine Learning – Benedict Evans: http://ben-evans.com/benedictevans/2016/11/20/ku6omictaredoge4cao9cytspbz4jt

How Finance Gutted Manufacturing – Boston Review: https://bostonreview.net/forum/suzanne-berger-how-finance-gutted-manufacturing

How Surgeons Stay Focused for Hours – WSJ: http://www.wsj.com/articles/how-surgeons-stay-focused-for-hours-1479310052

‘We Couldn’t Believe Our Eyes’: A Lost World of Shipwrecks Is Found – NY Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/12/science/shipwrecks-black-sea-archaeology.html?_r=1

Weekly Reading Roundup – 11/11/16

Tech firms shell out to hire and hoard talent – Economist: http://www.economist.com/news/business/21709574-tech-firms-battle-hire-and-hoard-talented-employees-huge-pay-packages-silicon-valley

The Competitive Landscape for Machine Intelligence – HBR: https://hbr.org/2016/11/the-competitive-landscape-for-machine-intelligence

What’s Wrong with Big Data? – New Humanist: https://newhumanist.org.uk/articles/5104/whats-wrong-with-big-data

How Artificial Intelligence Will Redefine Management – HBR: https://hbr.org/2016/11/how-artificial-intelligence-will-redefine-management

The Big Data Ecosystem of Data Science – OReilly: https://www.oreilly.com/ideas/the-big-data-ecosystem-for-science

Weekly Reading Roundup – 11/04/16

Fast-Forwarding to a Future of On-Demand Urban Air Transportation – Medium/Uber Public Policy: https://medium.com/@UberPubPolicy/fast-forwarding-to-a-future-of-on-demand-urban-air-transportation-f6ad36950ffa#.bnsnm12ws

Apple Should Buy Netflix – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2016/apple-should-buy-netflix/
(Personal Note: I really really hope they don’t)

How Spotify Can Tear Up the Music Biz – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/gadfly/articles/2016-11-01/how-spotify-can-revolutionize-the-music-business

Big Dollars in Astroid Mining (Infographic) – Visual Capitalist: http://www.visualcapitalist.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/asteroid-money.html