Monthly Archives: December 2016

Weekly Reading Roundup – 12/16/16

This will be my last reading update for the year, as I’ll be on vacation for the next few weeks. Happy Holidays to all and to all a good read! (Ugh, lame)

Google Makes So Much Money It Never Had to Worry About Financial Discipline, Until Now – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2016-12-08/google-makes-so-much-money-it-never-had-to-worry-about-financial-discipline

How Much Equity Do Founders Have When Their Company IPOs? – Priceonomics: https://priceonomics.com/how-much-equity-do-founders-have-when-their/

Anil Dash on the Future of Tech (Hint: It’s Weirdly Human) – Trello Blog: http://blog.trello.com/anil-dash-where-tech-is-heading-next

How People Like You Spend Their Time – FlowingData: http://flowingdata.com/2016/12/06/how-people-like-you-spend-their-time

New Evidence Suggests A Ninth Planet Lurking at the Edge of the Solar System – Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/speaking-of-science/wp/2016/01/20/new-evidence-suggests-a-ninth-planet-lurking-at-the-edge-of-the-solar-system/

To Planet 9 — and Beyond! – Discover Magazine: http://discovermagazine.com/2016/oct/to-planet-9

The State of Technology at the End of 2016 – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2016/the-state-of-technology-at-the-end-of-2016/

Start-Up Jobs Across America: San Francisco is Not the Queen of Startup Land, this Map Shows Why – HowMuch: https://howmuch.net/articles/start-up-jobs-across-America

Why finance craves big data: A perfect storm of disruption and opportunity – ZDNet: http://www.zdnet.com/article/big-data-in-finance-need-for-speed-architecture-regulation-transparency-and-decision-making

The Major Advancements in Deep Learning in 2016 – TryoLabs: https://tryolabs.com/blog/2016/12/06/major-advancements-deep-learning-2016/

The Dominance of Google and Facebook in One Chart – Visual Capitalist: http://www.visualcapitalist.com/dominance-google-and-facebook-one-chart/

Weekly Reading Roundup – 12/09/16

Spotify Crunches User Data in Fun Ways for This New Global Outdoor Ad Campaign – Adweek: http://www.adweek.com/adfreak/spotify-crunches-user-data-fun-ways-new-global-outdoor-ad-campaign-174826 (great campaign!)

A Cheat Sheet on the Deglobalization of the Financial World – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-12-06/a-cheat-sheet-on-the-deglobalization-of-the-financial-world

Seven Excuses of Highly Paid Chief Executives – FInancial Times: https://www.ft.com/content/02228292-b88f-11e6-961e-a1acd97f622d

Drones Reporting for Work – Recode (Goldman Sachs Sponsorship): http://www.recode.net/sponsored/goldman-sachs-drones

Opendoor: A Startup Worth Emulating – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2016/opendoor-a-startup-worth-emulating/

How Sports can Change Your Lifespan – Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/how-sports-can-change-your-lifespan-2016-11 (spoiler: the best "sports" from the study are racket sports–i.e. tennis or racquetball– or aroebics or swimming)

Weekly Reading Roundup – 12/02/16

What if Jobs are not the Solution but the Problem – Aeon: https://aeon.co/essays/what-if-jobs-are-not-the-solution-but-the-problem

Quit Social Media, Your Job May Depend on It – NYTimes: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/20/jobs/quit-social-media-your-career-may-depend-on-it.html?_r=0

Interview with Marc Andreesen, Flying Cars are Closer Than you Think – The Verge: http://www.theverge.com/a/verge-2021/marc-andreessen-horowitz-verge-interview

Bad Data Mining – Barry Ritholtz : http://ritholtz.com/2016/11/bad-data-mining

Big Data is a Big Mess for Hedge Funds Hunting Trade Signals – Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-11-22/big-data-is-a-big-mess-for-hedge-funds-hunting-for-trade-signals

How Data Science and Rocket Science Will Get Humans to Mars – TechCrunch: https://techcrunch.com/2016/11/19/how-data-science-and-rocket-science-will-get-humans-to-mars/

Some Preliminary Artworks from the Artist on ‘Arrival’: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/KvLvo

How Google Cloud Platform is Challenage AWS – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2016/how-google-cloud-platform-is-challenging-aws/

Australian Boys Recreate Life Saving Drugs – BBC News: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-australia-38153254 (very interesting and shows the ridiculousness of the US pharma system)