Monthly Archives: January 2017

Weekly Reading Roundup – 01/27/17

The History of Solar Energy [INFOGRAPHIC] – Visual Capitalist: http://www.visualcapitalist.com/history-solar-energy/

What is a GPU and Why Do I Care, A Businessperson’s Guide – MapD: https://www.mapd.com/blog/2017/01/23/what-is-a-gpu-and-why-do-i-care-a-businesspersons-guide-2/

How I Got My Attention Back – Back Channel: https://backchannel.com/how-i-got-my-attention-back-c7fc9297d347#.2hao3ekq4

Inside Pandora’s Quest to Take on Spotify, Apple Music & Amazon – Billboard: http://www.billboard.com/articles/news/magazine-feature/7661596/pandora-streaming-on-demand-service

Everything You Need To Know About Corporate Venture Capital in Europe – Venture Beat: http://venturebeat.com/2017/01/22/everything-you-need-to-know-about-corporate-venture-capital-in-europe/

Weekly Reading Roundup – 01/20/17

An Aging World: Percentage of the Population Age 65+ in 2015 and 2050 – Ritholtz: http://ritholtz.com/2017/01/an-aging-world-percentage-of-the-population-age-65-in-2015-and-2050

The Clouds of Andromeda- Slate: http://www.slate.com/blogs/bad_astronomy/2017/01/12/rogelio_bernal_andreo_photo_of_the_andromeda_galaxy_reveals_diffuse_clouds.html

How Designers Engineer Luck Into Video Games:
The responsibilities and challenges of programmed luck. – Nautil: http://nautil.us/issue/44/luck/how-designers-engineer-luck-into-video-games

Millenials Are Falling Behind Their Boomer Parents – ABC News: http://abcnews.go.com/Business/wireStory/millennials-falling-boomer-parents-44753933

The Inside Story of Google’s Daydream, Where VR Feels Like Home – Wired: https://www.wired.com/2017/01/google-daydream-vr-feels-human/

Move Over Codes, Physicists Will Soon Rule Silicon Valley – Wired: https://www.wired.com/2017/01/move-coders-physicists-will-soon-rule-silicon-valley/

An Aerial Tour of the TESLA GIGA Factory – Ritzholtz: http://ritholtz.com/2017/01/tesla-giga-factory-december-2016

The Simple Economics of Machine Learning – Digitopoly: http://www.digitopoly.org/2016/11/17/the-simple-economics-of-machine-intelligence/

How Google Tracks You [Infographic] – Visual Capitalist: http://www.visualcapitalist.com/how-google-tracks-you/

Rise of RoboMasters – The Verge: http://www.theverge.com/2016/9/27/13059144/dji-robomasters-robot-drone-battle-video-frank-wang-interview

The Great Unbundling – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/the-great-unbundling/

Weekly Reading Roundup – 01/13/17

Just How Smart is an Octopus? – Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/just-how-smart-is-an-octopus/2017/01/06/a2f1ed22-acd0-11e6-8b45-f8e493f06fcd_story.html

The Ten Year Anniversary of the Apple TV – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/the-ten-year-anniversary-of-the-apple-tv/

Millennial’s May Need to Double How Much They Save for Retirement – Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/get-there/wp/2017/01/09/millennials-may-need-to-double-how-much-they-save-for-retirement/

At Last, the Music Industry Rediscovers Its Mojo – Financial Times: https://www.ft.com/content/d3d28480-d334-11e6-9341-7393bb2e1b51

GTA V + Universe – OpenAI: https://openai.com/blog/GTA-V-plus-Universe/

Poker is the Latest Game to Fold to Artificial Intelligence – Technology Review: https://www.technologyreview.com/s/603342/poker-is-the-latest-game-to-fold-against-artificial-intelligence/

My Experience as a Freelance Data Scientist – Greg Reda: http://www.gregreda.com/2017/01/07/freelance-data-science-experience/

Corporations Need a New Reason to Be – Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articles/2017-01-04/corporations-need-a-new-reason-to-be

Drowned Fox Encased in Ice Block Pulled From Germany’s Danube River – The Star: https://www.thestar.com/news/world/2017/01/13/drowned-fox-encased-in-ice-block-pulled-from-germanys-danube-river.html

The Age of Analytics, Competing in a Data Driven World – McKinsey: http://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/mckinsey-analytics/our-insights/the-age-of-analytics-competing-in-a-data-driven-world

How Shazam Handles its Data Reserves – Computer Weekly: http://www.computerweekly.com/news/450409644/How-Shazam-handles-its-data-reserves

Weekly Reading Roundup – 01/06/17

I know you want it, I know you need it; so the Weekly Reading Roudup has returned for 2017! Happy New Year and I hope you were all able to have a great holiday season with an outlook to boot for rounding-out the winter season. I know I did and I know I will:

Big Data Analytics: Eating an Elephant – Forbes: http://www.forbes.com/sites/kevinomarah/2016/12/22/big-data-analytics-eating-an-elephant/#49ff159ceb8d

Alexa: Amazon’s Operating System – Stratechery: https://stratechery.com/2017/amazons-operating-system/

MUSIC: Grumby – Stuck: https://soundcloud.com/grumby/stuck

US Cities are Getting Smarter and You Probably Didn’t Notice – Quartz: https://qz.com/830926/our-cities-are-getting-smarter-and-you-probably-didnt-even-notice/

What It’s Like to Work at Snapchat, One of the Most Secretive Companies in Tech – Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/what-its-like-to-work-at-snapchat-2016-10